God’s Plan!!

Now, before I dive into the details of what God’s plan is, let me explain that I am NOT a fan of praying for healing.  Never have been.    What I DO believe in with all my heart is that God has a plan for each of us.     God knows I’m sick and according to Romans 8:28, He will work it to good and use it to further His plans because I am totally committed to Him.    So to me?  Praying for healing is just a touch more arrogant that I’d like to be with the Lord.    Who on earth am I to tell Him what to do?    THY WILL BE DONE—-are the four little words that a lot of folks leave out of their prayers.    To me, praying for healing is the same as saying to God, “Never mind YOUR will…pay attention to MINE!!”
So the whole week before the Feb 11 CT scan, I spent praying. Not for healing….but for the strength and the courage to accept whatever the doctor would say.     I knew in my heart that it wasn’t gonna be great news; but I also knew that whatever it was,  God and I would get through it together.    After all, I’d trusted Him all my life…why would I stop now?
Those nights before the scan, is when I first became aware of what God was laying on my heart.    He’s not real pleased with the way most Christians handle the whole death and dying thing.   We are living in the End times and the image we portray to the rest of the world is more important than ever.     We Christians go on and on to anyone who will listen about how good our God is, how much He loves us, and what a wonderful place He has prepared for us to live with Him for eternity!       But then, as soon as one of us is preparing to actually GO there, what do we do?   We react as if it’s the biggest tragedy to ever hit the planet!
We fuss and moan, cry and carry on with tears and whining.  How on earth does that look to the UNbelievers?   They can only come away with one opinion — Christians are mostly either idiots or hypocrites.     Neither take is really good for kingdom-building!    We need to live what we preach if we’re going to have an impact for Christ!!   So what was my role in all this?    God let me know.    He’d given me the visibility, through the Porch website and my little Thought for the Day email.    Thousands of people get my emails, visit  my Porch on a regular basis, read the cancer updates I send out, etc.    God wants me to SHOW them and, through them, the world, what it looks like when a Christian with strong faith faces the prospect of death and dying.     Let them know it can & should be a time of joyous anticipation and celebration instead of all sadness, gloom and doom!
Some sadness?  Sure…someone we love is going to a better place and we’re not going to see them again until it’s our turn to go…..but at the same time we should be happy for them and willing to celebrate with them!!     Everything I’ve read in the Bible and been taught in my life about Heaven makes it hard to wait to get there!! 
The reason so many folks fear death is because they perceive it as the Unknown.   POPPYCOCK!!   If you own a bible and have actually read it?  Death is anything BUT unknown.    It’s not an ending.   It’s a transition.    It’s where today stops and forever begins!!   
Thinking about it I could see that I was perfectly suited to get this message out to the world!!    He HAD given me the visibility…every day my inbox is flooded with emails from around the world — people talking about their own situations and how my story and my attitude about the whole thing has given them hope and changed the way they think about dying!    He’d also given me the gift of gab and the ability to share anything about my life with anyone.    I’m Irish and a storyteller from WAY back so it just comes naturally for me.
I was confused about how I was supposed to reach people more close to home.    But God let me know  He’d open the doors, I just had to be ready to go through them.    My first reaction?    AMEN!!   If that’s His plan for my last few years here on earth, then I’m in it to win it!!    Last thing I want to do is show up in Heaven having to hang my head and say, “Sorry Lord,  I chickened out!”   Not this girl!!  And open doors He did!    Invitations for speaking engagements began pouring in from all over the Southeast!!   Bible colleges, women’s conferences, church seminars, you-name-it!   My calendar was booked all the way to the end of October 2013!  Which was not making hubby happy at all!    He said it was going to be too much for me to be gallivanting all over trying to talk to so many people.     Then, came the suggestion from a good friend that instead of all that traveling, I use the technology right here at home.    Make podcasts of the talks I wanted to give and let folks download and use them wherever!  Not only could I do it from home, I could reach thousands instead of hundreds, and the stuff I’d record would be available online even after I’d changed zip codes!   Hubby liked this idea MUCH better!
But was God on board?   He’s the one who had all these people set up the speaking engagements after all… Rich said for me to pray about it.   So that night, I did.    I just told God what the new idea was, said if He was ok with it, this whole podcast & blogging thing,  He’d have to make a way because we had no money for laptops, webcams, etc.    The very next day?   I get a letter telling us that a refund we’d given up on has been approved!    More than enough to pay for a laptop, wifi, etc. GODWINK!!!        So a few days later,  I’m standing in Wal-Mart at 8 am in the computer aisle, by myself, surrounded by laptops, tablets, modems, speakers, etc.     I have absolutely NO idea which one I should get, what I need to go with it, etc.     Technologically savvy, I’m NOT!     All I did know was that I’d better buy one that was compatible with the Internet provider I had which was Timewarner.      I felt so helpless, I just stood there in front of a row of laptops and said out loud:  “Lord?   A little help here please???”    Literally 2 seconds later I hear a voice behind me say, “How can I help?”    I turn around and what do I see?    I see HELP!!  Not a Walmart salesperson —-  I see a man with a TIMEWARNER logo on his pretty green shirt!   WAY TO GO GOD!!!!     He said, “I was over in the next aisle pricing some parts for one of my customers before my shift started and I heard what you said!!   So I just walked around the corner to see who on earth talks to GOD out loud, in Wal-Mart at 8 am!!!”     I laughed my head off!!    He ended up showing me exactly what I needed AND saving me money!!    Hubby comes around the corner right as we were finishing up, sees the Timewarner man and says, “Where’d you find him?”   I replied, “I didn’t find him….God did!” GODWINK!!
So now, here I sit, with a new laptop, complete with webcam, blogging away trying to get my “history” online for posterity!!   My real aim is to leave a modern legacy that lets believers know that our God is real!  Alive!  Active in the lives of His children TODAY!!      The idea that  Jesus is just some shadowy figure in a dusty history  book  is the image a lot of folks have today and they are SO wrong!  If you open your heart to Him He will gladly transform your life just the way He did mine!   But He needs ALL of you!  Not 10%, not part-ownership, ALL of you!    Once you commit your life to Him nothing will ever be the same and you’ll never have to be afraid of anything, ever again!!  
Now that I’ve gotten this blog current, please follow me and stay updated on where God takes me from here!   Feel free to email or comment on what you read….I’d love to see your feedback!!  God bless!!
Leave a Reply

