The Power of Prayer

What do you think is the most unnoticed, under-rated weapon in the modern
Christian’s arsenal?    In my opinion, it’s gotta be PRAYER.    Such a simple
concept, familiar to everyone, believer or not, but still misunderstood and
underused, even by those who should know better!!
 
A good friend of mine has her own blog (Love ya Deanne!!) and one of her
recent entries was about how we often are asked to pray for someone and
our response is,“Of course I will!”    But DO we?    The intention is there but
sometimes the follow-through is missing.    Her advice was priceless:   When
asked to pray for someone, respond by offering to pray WITH them…right
then, wherever you are!!   Much more effective!  
 
I think a lot of the problem is that Christians UNDERestimate the power of
prayer.   How many times have we heard, “Well, all we can do is pray…”
Like it’s some kind of last-ditch, end-of-the-road thing to do when someone’s
in trouble and there’s nothing else left to try!      Prayer shouldn’t be a last-
ditch anything!  
It should be our first line of defense no matter what we’re facing!   It’s a
POWERFUL and PERSONAL connection between us and our Heavenly Father
Who’s just waiting for us to ask for His help!!  I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s
a storage room up in Heaven somewhere just crammed full of gifts, blessings,
grace and solutions waiting to be showered onto believers down here, but the
corresponding requests were never made!!    Someone very wise once said,
 “You have not, because you ask not!”    DUH!!!
 
I’ve had this discussion over the years with lots of folks and you’d be
surprised how many times I’ve heard this:  ” I’m never sure HOW to
pray.   I know the Lord’s Prayer of course, but that’s it.”  Makes me want
to rent a billboard somewhere that says:   
 
                  DON’T COMPLICATE IT PEOPLE….JUST PRAY!!
 
What exactly does it mean to pray?    Granted, Jesus taught us the Lord’s
Prayer.   But it shouldn’t stop there.   Prayer is just a conversation with your
Father….how hard is that?    Most of us have no problem at all talking to
our families, our neighbors, our coworkers, the person behind us in line
at Wal-Mart, the woman seated next to us on the bus or in a waiting room-
so why is there all this difficulty and drama surrounding a chat with our
Creator?    Our Heavenly Father, who knows ALL about us and loves us
beyond words anyway?    Are we afraid we’ll shock Him? I doubt it!
What on earth could we tell Him that He doesn’t already know?    Lots of
folks think that prayer should be reserved for life’s biggest problems and
before meals.     That’s not a good plan —- if all of sudden you’re faced
with a major catastrophe and the only prayer you know is “Bless this food
we’re about to receive…..” you’re gonna be on the spot in a rather BIG
way!!      Prayer shouldn’t be reserved for disaster or calamity!!    That’s
the same as treating God as though He’s just a life-preserver, to be used
only in emergencies!!     I’m sure He’d rather be someone we talk to, rely on and turn

to on a daily basis instead of being treated like a spiritual
9-1-1 operator!
 
Now once upon a time, like the good Catholic girl I used to be, I prayed at
regular intervals….before meals, in church, morning and bedtime, etc.
Then Clayton, ( those of you who’ve read Dusty’s Story from the beginning
remember Clayton….a sweet old retired preacher from my Steamboat days
who became my spiritual mentor )  told me something that forever changed
both my life and my attitude about prayer.    He told me to spend one hour
every morning talking to God.    He didn’t care if I read formal prayers
(Catholics have HUNDREDS of those) or made up my own, or read the Bible,
or sang worship songs, or just sat and meditated on how much He’d done for
me.    I was just to spend an hour, preferably the first hour, of every day
focused on the Lord.      He said if I would do that, every morning for
2 weeks, that I’d never stop because it would change my life so drastically
that I’d never look back.   And you know what?    It did and I never have.  
Clayton said that if I’d faithfully give Jesus one hour each day, then He’d give
me everything I needed to get through the other 23.   He was SO right!
 
If you make it a habit of having your coffee with Jesus every morning, the
rest of your day will be SO much better.    I’m not saying that every day will
be a breeze….some of them are going to be downright awful — that’s called
life.    What I am saying is when you have Jesus backing you up nothing’s 
going to develop that you and He together can’t handle!      I can already
hear some readers saying, “An hour in the MORNING?   There’s no time….
my mornings are hectic already!”   Been there, done that.    When I started
the coffee with Jesus thing, I was a single mom myself.    The only way I
could swing it was to get up an hour earlier than I usually did.   Easy?  Not
at first,  but it wasn’t long until I realized that if I didn’t spend that first hour
with Him, my day imploded rather quickly.     NOW I understand why my
Grandma Rose spent an hour out on the porch every morning “talking to God”
when I was growing up.   So the ‘I don’t have time’ excuse kind of falls flat.
You’ll never have the time — you simply make the time!
 
Think about it like this….imagine one hectic morning, you race down the
stairs, running late (again), find your shoes, grab your purse and skid
around the corner headed for the kitchen door and you see Jesus sitting
at the table, pushing a cup of coffee towards you!!   What would you say?
“Geez….morning Lord….I’d love to sit and talk but I have that meeting at
nine and I’m already late —maybe we could hook up later?”   Of course
not!!!    You’re going to fall flat on your face in the kitchen and worship the
One who died to save you and actually cared enough to stop by for coffee!
He really would LOVE to have a coffee and a chat with you…..so many of the
ones He suffered and died for treat Him like He doesn’t exist, I bet He’s
thrilled when someone makes time just for Him!!
 
What you do or say during your “prayer” hour is totally up to you.   I believe
there’s as many different ways to pray as there are people.   Even though,
lots of people have tried to ‘educate’ me over the years about the ‘proper’
way to pray ( but that’s a whole other Blog entry!! ) I’m still convinced that
there’s no right or wrong way to pray.      I’m totally in awe of those folks
who can just launch out loud into a verbal word-perfect prayer to fit any
situation at a moment’s notice.   That’s something I can’t do.   Now give me
a keyboard and I’m off and running, or hand me a microphone and I’ll
tell stories to 3000 people for 2 hours, not a problem.     But ask me to lead
a prayer out loud and I shut down faster than a crashed computer.    I guess
because to me prayer is a VERY personal connection with Jesus.    I can’t
even begin to imagine telling anyone else the things I talk about with
Jesus!!    But that’s the whole point — we should be able to and He expects
us to tell Him everything that’s going on in our lives and our hearts.  What
we’re doing, feeling, afraid of, celebrating, worrying about, all of it.  
 
So, if a daily prayer isn’t part of your routine?   Take Clayton’s challenge and
give God one hour every morning for just 2 weeks…..I dare you!!   Then come
on back and comment on this blog and let me know what happens!!!
Bundles of Blessings!!
2 responses to this post.

  1. Can you imagine if everyone in the world did this daily? What a wonderful world that world be…

    Reply

  2. absolutely!!! There’d probably be a mega-party in Heaven too!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

