Exactly Who IS the devil?

I never would have thought that I’d be devoting an entire blog
to this pest…..granted, I pick on him and call him a lot of names
in my writings and talks here and there, but an entire blog?
Why is he even worth it?
To me? He’s most certainly not. But I have to remember that
it’s not about me anymore. The Lord wants me to show His
people how to face the whole death and dying thing and still
LIVE for Him at the same time. I’m figuring it out as I go,
and I’m certainly reaching lots of people via my talks and my
Front Porch and these blogs; but the one thing that keeps
cropping up over and over again is satan. It amazes me how
many people, even ones who call themselves Christians, spend
hours agonizing over and worrying about when and where the
devil is going to launch his next attack! They worry constantly
about how to “protect” themselves against him. Many of
them blame everything on him…. a job loss, money woes,
rowdy children, run-of-the-mill neighborhood disputes; you
name it!
Now, let me make it clear….I’m not doubting the existence of the
devil. He’s real. VERY real. I just think most folks have
totally over-estimated his power in their lives. Especially the
Christians. We read in God’s Word that the devil is like a
roaring lion prowling around looking for victims to chew up
and swallow. No doubt he’s slinking and prowling around.
No doubt at all that he roars and makes a lot of noise….but
99% of that is just hot air! Because if he can scare you enough
to make you panic? He might get you to trip and fall down and
then he’d maybe have a chance to gum you to death….but
that’s it….he lost every shred of power he had (including his
teeth) the day Jesus walked out of that tomb 2000 years ago.
Christ defeated death, guaranteed us eternal life, and pulled the
plug on satan’s abilities all with that one short stroll on Easter
morning. As Christians, we BELIEVE that Jesus came
back from the dead……we BELIEVE that He punched our
ticket to Heaven for all eternity…….so why oh why do we find
it so hard to believe that He’s defeated the one pathetic slime-
ball who’s been bugging God’s people since he got Adam and
Eve kicked out of Eden?
Yes….back then? He was a force to be reckoned with…..in most
of the Old Testament he was a dangerous, fierce enemy who
tried everything possible to destroy anyone who loved and
served God. But that was THEN people…..this is NOW!
Ever since that Easter morning….all he’s had left to work with
is lies, deceipt and our own fear! The only real power he has
left comes from US!! How sad is that???
We are the children of the living God!! Jesus is now seated at
the right hand of God….interceding for us, protecting us,
teaching us and willing to give us all we need to vanquish that
sniveling pest once and for all!!

The excerpt below is one that I found in my web-surfing one day
and it’s the best analogy I’ve ever read:

SYSTEM SECURITY CHECK My defense wasn’t on, my guard
was dropped ….. and when the thief came into my home to attack
me, I was unprepared to do battle. He tempted me and I felt
powerless.
It happened shortly after I awoke this morning. I got up and
began rushing about. I had a thousand things on my list and
was already running behind. Quickly, I gulped down breakfast,
took a shower and got ready for work. In my rush, I forgot to
turn the security system on at my house.
It was just about a half an hour later that the thief broke in. Of
course, he didn’t make a sound. Just kind of snuck inside, not
drawing any attention to himself. In fact, none of the neighbors
ever saw him.But, I did. You see, I was home when the thief
broke in. He naturally startled me, as I was unprepared for his
visit.
He, of course, didn’t announce that he was coming and I certainly
had not invited him over. And yet, I found myself face to face with
danger and I felt so powerless. I also felt so very stupid, because
this whole incident could have been avoided if I had just taken the
time to turn the security system on.

You better believe I’ll be turning it on tomorrow morning! I
thought I’d warn you about this guy, because he’s still on the
loose.
Chances are, he’s in your area. Possibly even headed for your
house. His name? His name is satan. You see, this morning
when I jumped up in my haste to get started on my busy day,
I skipped my prayer time, opting to “pray later today.”
In other words, I DIDN’T TURN ON THE SECURITY SYSTEM In short…
don’t forget to turn your security system on!!!

Me again…I have a sign posted in various places around my
house simply soI will be constantly reminded of how we should
live as Christians. It reads:

Live your life in such a way
That when your feet hit the floor in the morning
The devil shudders and says:
“OH NO!! She’s awake!!”

Here’s another excerpt from my readings that hits the nail on
the head so to speak:

Considering how much the devil hates people and how dead set
he is on destroying them, it’s no wonder we see so much tragedy
and disaster in the world. In fact, it’s amazing that we don’t see
more! I asked the Lord about that one time and He told me it
takes the realm of darkness a long time to set up major disasters.
Take the aviation industry, for example. It’s highly regulated and
works hard at policing itself because safety is its product. You
take a highly regulated system like that and the devil has to work
terribly hard to cause disasters. He can’t just come roaring in
and rip things up any time he wants to. If he could, he’d knock
every plane out of the sky tonight. But he can’t do it.
Why? Because he’s bound. The Bible says he’s bound to things
that are common to man. He has to line up certain things in this
natural, human realm before he can lay a finger on you. He has
to use people to get his work done. But, bless God, we’re not
bound to what’s common to man.
We’re free to use what’s common to God! We fight our warfare
with uncommon weapons. What does that mean? It means you
ought to have the devil wrapped up and sewed up. You ought to
put him in a sack with a ribbon on top. The devil can’t cause
disaster in your life unless he has been given place. He can’t come
in and start destroying and stealing from you unless he can get
you into a place of sin, doubt, ignorance, or disobedience. So if
he’s been giving you trouble, ask the Holy Spirit to show you
where you’ve let those things in. Then repent and get rid of them.
Once you’ve done that, pull out the weapons God has given you
and fire away with both barrels. Pull out the Word. Pull
out prayer. Pull out faith and use it to tie the devil in knots. Use
the uncommon power of God to keep him bound and he won’t
be able to put anything over on you. (wish I could remember
who wrote this cause they “nailed” !!)

The other day someone asked me if I took the devil “seriously”.
Well, sure I do….I’m just not intimidated by him at all. And you
shouldn’t be either! I like explain it this way. Until October
of 2006 I was what I call a luke-warm Christian. Then, one
Sunday afternoon, I guess Jesus got tired of waiting for me to
come around on my own and engineered an epiphany for yours
truly! That’s the day I went from luke-warm about Jesus to
on fire for Christ. In other words?

One afternoon in 2006
Jesus reached down to set me free
And ever since that October day?
The devil’s afraid of ME!!!!

Please think about what I’ve said and what’s in this blog. The
devil IS a factor in your life as a Christian certainly…..but don’t
give him more time or thought or credit than he deserves!!
Set your security system each and every morning by praying,
remind yourself that satan is a has-been and get on with the
business of lighting up your world for Jesus!!! There’s SO
much left to do!!

Since I firmly believe that humor is one of God’s greatest gifts
to us…..I have to include this little piece of poetry written by a
dear online friend that appeared in my inbox as I was finishing
up this blog and made me laugh out loud~~ ENJOY and thanks
to Toni !!

satan! That dirty devil
Look at him!
He thinks he is so handsome
There’s no resistin’ him
God ‘n’ me are dancin’
and he’s tryin’ to cut in!
Grace, my friend,
Vamooses him
While God ‘n’ me
Dance on, marry-ly!

Leave a Reply

